The following appeared in the editorial section of a local newspaper.

"The librarians in our town's school system have reported that the number of trips that our

students make to their school library on a voluntary basis has decreased significantly in recent

years. For example, the average seventh-grade student visited the school library five times

last year, but four of those visits were part of required classroom activities. This shows that our

students are reading less than in the past. To address this problem, our town needs to improve

the atmosphere of the libraries so that they will be comfortable places in which to work. If

students view the libraries as uncomfortable, then they are unlikely to want to spend much time

there."

The author of the editorial section purports that the reading done by students and to tackle the situation the town must ameliorate the atmosphere of libraries making them more conducive for students to work, thus eliminating discomfort as a reason for the low turnouts and lesser time spent by students in the libraries. The author cites survey conducted in a school library to determine the number of visits an average student makes to library. The author's claims seems to be based on some unwarranted assumptions. The following four paragraphs discuss the clarifications the author must provide make a cogent case.

Firstly, The survey conducted in the school library doesn't consider or state the fact that students have to attend classes. Perhaps, the low number of students showing up at the shcool library is primarily because students spend more time attending classes. Perhaps, they have an hectic schedule and curriculum to cover and spending time in the library becomes a luxury. The author must consider the above stated conditions else the above survey fails to underpin the author's argument.

Secondly, there are other sources of reading materials which the students might be accessing other than libraries. Perhaps the students prefer reading from online sources on the internet, residing in the comfort of their home rather than travelling or going to the library to read. It is also possible the libraries though comfortable lack the facilities like internet connection which might be the primary source from where students access reading materials. The author fails to inform the readers that whether the libraries are equipped with technologies and facilities that the students require for reading and working purposes.

Thirdly, it is possible that the location of the libraries in the town are not readily accessible to the students. Perhaps, even though the students are willing to visit the libraries, the long distances and traffic bridles them from doing so. The author must ensure and provide information about the accessibility of these libraries. If the students find these libraries hard to reach or access they are very likely to adopt other technologies that are more conducive.

Lastly, it is also possible that libraries charge students some amount as membership fees whereas students can access reading materials for free from sources like the internet. The author must investigate if the membership charges are one of the reasons that is discouraging sudents from visiting libraries.

In conclusion, the above reasons render the argument weak. The author must consider the suggestions stated earlier to make a cogent argument.