The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The argument tries to implicate the effects of birth order on an individual’s levels of stimulation based on a study conducted on eighteen rhesus monkeys. Though what the study suggests might be probable but it requires profound reasoning and appropriate details to come to a plausible conclusion.

Firstly the study was conducted on a very limited number of test subjects. The accuracy of the supposition would have increased if the number of subjects under test or examination would have been more and thus yielding more data clues, and more number of exceptional cases if they do exist in some of them. More over there is inadequate information about the rhesus monkeys on which the study was conducted. If the monkeys belonged to a single clan then there might have been some genetic dependencies that might further result into discrepancies in the acquired results. What it implies is that there may be different results due to the regional factors and the living conditions of the monkeys and would have substantiated the study by exploring the regional and habitat based dependencies if they did exist.

Secondly the mechanism of the production of the hormone cortisol on stimulations has not been appropriately delineated. There may be numerous other primary response to the stimulation and cortisol secretion might be a dependent secondary response.

Moreover the stimulation that elicits cortisol production needs more explanation. The level of stimulation or the type of stimulation that results into such secretion must be analyzed. Without the information about the stimulation we get a vague and generalized set of clues which are not significant enough to come to a concrete conclusion. The fact that the first pregnancy induces higher levels of cortisol does not serve as any explanation to the cortisol production and the stimulation level or types. It is just an observation.

The similarities between the cortisol secretion in humans and rhesus monkeys due to certain stimulations have been stated by the author. Though the similarities must be noted and there might be some relation between the two owing to the archaic ancestry we share with their kind but no definite relation between the two occurrences have been set by the author. That renders the above stated observations scientifically insipid and no inferences can be made from the same.