The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual s levels of stimulation The study showed that in stimulating situat

The author of the above written letter points out that the level of cortisol hormone secreted by the body is higher in firstborn infant monkeys and humans. The author also state that first time pregnant mother monkeys also had a higher level of cortisol in their bodies, but this letter does not provide enough data to convince the editor of these facts since it is rigged with assumptions. There might be a number of possible alternative explanations that lead to these claims.

The author has not given any information on those 18 rhesus monkeys being studied. There is no evidence that proves this study was conducted and even if it did, whether it was reliable. It is possible that the study was conducted in an area which wasn't favorable for this species of monkeys which might've triggered this release of cortisol hormone as a sort of defense mechanism. Author also doesn't provide the timespan in which this study was conducted, whether it was constant or taken at particular intervals of time. Those high level of cortisol might be imminent even before the stimulant occurs. So there is no way to be sure that this release of cortisol was directly linked to the situation of stimuli.

This time the author focuses on firstborn humans stating that they have relatively high cortisol levels too. Firstly, humans are way more complex in their physiological traits than monkeys. Secondly, we can't compare apples with oranges because that's exactly what the author did in this transcript. Humans, being quite a complex species that they are, have many different emotions, triggers which causes the release of various hormones which may be the case for this release of cortisol. The living conditions of these 2 mammals are also quite varied and different. That is the reason why there can't be a comparison between monkeys and humans.

In the conclusion of this letter the author states that first time mother have a higher cortisol levels than those who have done it multiple times. This doesn't necessarily imply that first born monkeys have higher cortisol levels. This might happen because of the mother experiencing the sensation of child birth for the first time and this acting as a stimuli triggers the release of cortisol in their bodies which indirectly proves that levels of cortisol may not be directly connected with birth order of the babies. There might also be another explanation that cortisol level secretions decrease with age or every time it gets released, the subsequent time that it's triggered just releases a lower amount of the hormone. This is the reason why we can't say for sure that first born monkeys have higher cortisol release that their younger counterparts.

The writer also mentions that this study is "recent" but he doesn't give any additional evidence suggesting the amount of time elapsed after this study. If this study was conducted a decade ago then multiple factors play a part in this phenomenon such as geographical conditions like environment, climatic changes, etc. For example this study might've been conducted in a hazardous environment since the writer has also not mentioned the testing conditions. This may in-turn be the reason of higher cortisol release in the first born because of them being more sensitive to these changes. So we need more evidence surrounding this study and we need statistical data on these rhesus monkeys that are being monitored.

Lastly we can see that the author of this letter is presuming things based off of some studies which are quite vague and ambiguous. This is the reason why we need to steer clear of these mis-informative articles and studies which may lead to a mass-belief system based on false pretenses. We need be more aware of the current situations and stop spreading information with no evidence backing it up. Always read from trusted sources and ignore unreliable info.