The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Nature's Way, a

chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Previous experience has shown that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents

are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build our next new store

in Plainsville, which has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of

running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly

closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight

training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of

customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a 'fitness for life' program,

which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

The memorandum by the Vice President of Nature's Way asserts that they should set up their next new store in Plainsville. The memorandum cites that the increased sales of exercise apparels and membership of the local health club to be a sufficient indicator for their furture stores's success. Before we can jump to such a conclusion the Vice President must clarify certain assumptions that seem unwarranted and weaken the memorandum.

Does a huge healthy population directly correlates with the purported increased sales in health foos and health related products? Perhaps not all of the residents of Plainsville who are healthy might want to supplement their salubrious life style with health foods and health products though they may be processes to the minimal extent. The huge healthy population may look promising for the business but one must take into account the life style choices of the residents and carry out a detailed survey of whether they would prefer such commercial health supplements. Otherwise the assumption fails and might lead to losses to the company.

One can ask, " Does the high sales of exercise clothing is only because of purchase by the Plainsville residents or there are some other customer base that is being overlooked?" It is fairly plausible that the merchants of Plainsville are reporting the aggregate sales statistics for exercise clothing without classifying the consumer base the purchases belong to. It is also noticeable that the credibility of the merchant's sales figures have almost no basis. If that is the case the whole venture that is based on the merchants sales reportsand consideration that the consumer base is predominantly consisting of Plainsville residents, might falter and incur huge losses on the company's part.

The assumption that Kids or the new generation of school children might be a new and heavily numbered customer base for the company, seems to be unwarranted. Perhaps the parents or guardians of the kids who will be the puchaser on behalf of the kids might not want their children to be dependent on health foods and health products from an early age and rather stick to natural ways of attaining fitness, the goal of the 'fitness for life' program. Without a warranted survey of the guardians and parents of Plainsville the assumption of the size of the upcoming generation of Plainsville consumer base might not hold true and be another reason for losses to the company.

Thus, the above reasons render the argument stated in the memorandum weak. The Vice President must provide more evidence by carrying out detailed surveys with the residents of Plainsville before taking any conclusive decision. The Surveys of the residents and consumer bases for the exercise apparels reported by merchants will help provide a simulacrum of the viability of business prospects of Nature's Way in Plainsville.