The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Previous experience has shown that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build our next new store in Plainsville, which has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a 'fitness for life' program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The arguments says that vice president of Nature's Way wants to build their next new store as their previous stores get more profit. The argument also said that exercise clothing and shoes demands are always high and the exercise gym is always full. It also draws a conclusion that, school children should participate fitness program at an early age. These assumptions are flawed in different ways.

As the argument do not mention any evidence data it is quite confusing to say that according to previous experience they can obviously get profit in next store. As previous stores are profitable with health conscious buyer it can not be said that next store also will be profitable with such healthy residence. Because as peoples demand changes frequently it will be irrelevant to draw a strong assumption like that.

Secondly, the argument not only draws a conclusion based on ague and ambiguous terms, but also uses data from a limited sample about exercise clothes and shoes. While weight training and aerobics class are always full what about other exercise classes? the argument could not mention any explanation regarding these exercise classes.

However, In the argument Nature's Way has assumed they could have new generation customer. But there might not any guarrenty that the new generation will also lead a good healthy life. They have to know about the health benefit and get knowledge about healthy life style. For this reason, the family of the new generation can help them.

The arguments could be strength if the vice president provided evidence regarding their profit. This could be further strength if he could thought about others profitable things like exercise cloths and shoes. It would have been a better arguments if these information would be depicted and then draw a meaningful conclusion.