The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Nature’s Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

“Previous experience has shown that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build our next new store in Plainsville, which has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville’s schoolchildren are required to participate in a ‘fitness for life’ program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument claims that Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and health-related products is opening its next franchise in Plainsville, and it is going to be very successful. The reasons provided to support this claim are: Plainville residents lead healthy lives, city merchants report high sales of running shoes, exercies, etc., full attendance at local health clubs, and schoolchildren's mandatory fitness-for-life program. Stated this way, the argument is based on a number of assumptions that are essential to prove its claim.

First, the author postulates that the new franchise will be successful since Plainsville residents are similar in their health-related habits to other area where Nature's Way franchises tend to be most successful. This conclusion has an inherent assumption that the health habits of the residents are the sole factor affecting the sales. There are other factors that the argument fails to consider such as the affordability of these products for the Plainsville residents, or the possibility of a more famous competitor already present in Plainsville.

Second, the argument fails to provide any evidence or statistical data for the reliability of Plainsville merchant's reports. Therefore, it is based on the assumption that these reports are gathered from across the city and provide viable insights into the sales pattern of the entire city. If this is not true, it will not furnish a good reason to accept this evidence supporting the claim.

Third, it assumes that exercise, and full attendance at weight training, and aerobics classes will directly affect the sales or the success of the new franchise in the city. Nature's Way is, as stated in the argument, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products. Absent information on the types of products leads to speculation about the relationship between exercise and "health products". It is entirely possible that the health products of the company are not useful for the kind of exercise stated in the argument, and people are not as focused on healthy food as they are on exercise. If this is the case, it seriously undermines the argument's reasoning.

Lastly, the claim that schoolchildren's mandatory fitness-for-life program makes them potential customers for the new franchise relies on the assumption that these children are interested, or have the will to actively participate in the program. For all we know, this program is focused on yoga and other exercises that do not require any tools.

In sum, the argument is flawed because it is based on a number of assumptions that are not clarified, and therefore it is unconvincing. Unless the author provides justifiable evidence for the facts or assumptions, one cannot evaluate the merits of the claim that the new franchise will be successful.