The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The argument states that the council of Maple County is debating whether they should restrict the development of existing farmland in order to prevent the county from being overdeveloped. Currently, the council believes that imposing such restrictions would lead to a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County. The two sides presented in the argument are: supporters of the proposed restrictions with evidence of another county that established similar restrictions ten years ago, and doing well while opponents with evidence of yet another county with similar restrictions and adverse effects on house prices ever since. Stated this way, the argument's prediction is based on a number of assumptions essential to evaluate the merits of its anticipation.

First, proponents argue that Chestnut County seems to be doing well with only moderate increases in housing prices since it adopted similar restrictions 10 years ago. Is Chestnut County similar to Maple County in all the other aspects that may impact the housing prices? These factors include the current population of the county, population growth of the county including immigration in the future, current demand for houses or real estate, and trends of growth in these demands. Is it not possible that both these counties have disproportionate trends in population and real-estate demand growth over time? If true, this would seriously undermine the evidence presented by proponents.

Secondly, opponents state similar evidence stating that Pine County adopted such a strategy 15 years ago, and its housing prices are increasing so rapidly that currently, it is more than double what it was initially. In addition, to evaluate other factors that are crucial for such comparison, a significant time gap between the adoption of the proposed restrictions by counties taken as evidence by proponents and opponents needs to be evaluated thoroughly. What is the supply-to-demand ratio 15, and 10 years ago? How it has changed during this time? 5 years is enough time for the changing trends to become dominating in a market as volatile as real estate.

Lastly, the council's prediction is based on the inherent assumption that Maple County is more similar to Pine County presented by opponents than Chestnut County presented by proponents. The absence of any evidence calls into question this important assumption. If it is not true, it would not furnish a good reason to consider the council's prediction as valid.

In sum, the argument is flawed as it stands, and therefore unconvincing. It is based on a number of unsubstantiated assumptions that are critical to evaluating the validity of the council's prediction that adopting the proposed strategy would lead to increased prices in Maple County. To further bolster the argument, the author needs to provide facts or evidence to answer the above questions such as (1) How different or similar are these other counties to Maple County to compare its housing prices?, (2) How are real-estate demand and supply is changing in all these counties over time?, and (3) Which County is closer to Maple County considering factors like population, immigration, housing demands, and income level of people.