Claim: Any piece of information referred to as a fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

Based on the reasoning that information that people accept undoubtedly as a fact turns out to be inaccurate in the future, one should not trust any factual information. Admittedly, there are a lot of example in history that supports this claim, in my opinion, the given claim is far from being true because of its generalization of the idea.

The first perspective to consider is the discoveries in the field of science. Scientific research is one of the most important factors contributing to the myriad of innovations coming into the market every day. What's the basis of any such research? It's a comprehensive study of a particular problem - a literature survey - which includes more or less accepting a number of factual information as true. The idea of simply rejecting any factual information would not work in such cases. It's paramount for scientists and researchers, to go through most of the recent studies pertaining to the problem they are trying to solve, before even considering starting a research project.

Secondly, accepting this factual information helps us to perform new experiments to solve more problems. It is only when we take these facts as completely true that we will be able to use those ideas elsewhere, which in turn helps us to corroborate the reliability of the commonly accepted idea. If all of us disregard any factual information based on the reason that it may be proven false in the future, then it's never going to happen. For instance, Einstein accepted the laws of Newtonian mechanics and utilized them in his other experiments to find out that these laws do not hold at microscopic levels, for particles such as protons, electrons, etc. This gave us the entirely new area of physics that we know as quantum mechanics today.

Coming to the other side of the issue, one may argue that history is replete with examples of facts that were proven false after some time. For example, the idea that the earth is flat, or the earth is the center of the universe. Each of these ideas was widely accepted at one point in time. However, both of these ideas were proven false due to space exploration by the galileo and his supporters. Now, this may seem a very strong point but it overlooks the amount of information known to humans at present times. The given claim might hold true for the cases when information was limited. But it is not the case now. The amount of information we have today is beyond comparison to what we knew back then. Modern days facts are established by going through a lot of scrutinies by scientists and scholars. It's not as easy to prove modern facts as false as it was before.

In conclusion, it's unreasonable to reject any piece of information that is a fact. This generalization is faulty in that it overlooks some of the major factors that need to consider before making any such decision: the high reliability of modern facts, the importance of factual information in other relevant experiments that may help us to validate it in under various circumstances, and the ability of these facts to give a headstart to much scientific research. It's better to accept facts that are the basis for a field of study rather than trying to reinvent the wheel.