In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

What is the most important quality for an individual in order to thrive in any profession, imagination, or knowledge? Before answering this question, we must define what we mean by these terms. In my opinion, imagination is part of our mind that make things up, while knowledge is based on facts. Admittedly, one needs the basic knowledge to have a good command over a subject, I believe that imagination weighs more when we talk about achieving new heights in a field of study for the reasons discussed below.

First, imagination helps us in how we think, reason, and perceive things that we have not attended physically. Immanuel Kant, a well-known 18th-century philosopher, developed a theory that goes beyond our narrow physical world. In that, he states that imagination contributes significantly to cognitive, aesthetic, and moralistic aspects of our lives. It helps us to gain new ideas that may not seem possible because of the current limitations in any given field, however one that cannot be considered completely unrealistic.

Secondly, imagination is of paramount importance in the field of arts and literature. As stated in the book "The Art Instinct: Beauty, Pleasure and Human Evolution", by Dennis Dutton, imagination is perhaps the most important characteristic of any artistic work. Imagination is the writer's best friend. One cannot deny that all kinds of arts, whether it is literature, painting, or state-of-the-art architecture, all occur in a make-believe world, at least initially. The artistic experience takes place in a theatre of the imagination.

Moreover, scientific innovations begin with the imagination of a researcher in one way or the other. Consider any invention that led to a scientific breakthrough in its respective field. For earlier innovations, let's take an example of the electric bulb invented by Thomas Alva Edition. It was his imagination of such an unprecedented electric device that gave us the bright world we know today. For modern innovations of the digital world, consider Facebook, it was Mark Zuckerberg's imagination of how university students can share activities of their daily lives through media that gave the world the tech giant we know today. The same goes for the Microsoft operating system, developed by Bill Gates. For that matter, it would not be an exaggeration to say that any innovation starts with imagination.

Admittedly, one cannot undermine the power of knowledge. The basic knowledge is for sure important to imagine even a minor change in that field. However, when we consider the modern era of competition, it is clear that getting knowledge in any field is not that hard, thanks to the Internet. It is the imagination that makes distinguishes normal people from the "world's best" in any profession.

In sum, imagination seems more important if one wants to thrive in the field of study. While one cannot deny the importance of knowledge in any profession, imagination is what let us use that knowledge to do something meaningful for our society. In the contemporary world, where every field of study comprises a lot of scholars, one needs to have a good imagination more than ever to stand out from the crowd.