In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement asserts that in order to progress, people with opposing points of view must debate or discuss their ideas. Admittedly, a reasonable debate is the best way for opposing parties to understand each other's concerns, and possibly come to a solution that is beneficial for both. While I agree with this view, there are certain scenarios for which this view may not hold true.

The first perspective to take into account is the reasonable debate v/s futile arguments. Unless and until people with opposing viewpoints are willing to discuss their beliefs or concerns in a reasonable way with an open mind to welcome the ideas from the other side, there is no point in having any kind of discussion. For instance, consider television talk shows, especially with political leaders debating on some issue. Most such discussions start with both the parties doggedly trying to impose their beliefs onto others, and end up with even more discord than before and a complete waste of time and energy. A well-reasoned discussion is a must if the parties involved desire to agree at some point.

Secondly, one need not look at more than our daily life to find out examples indicating the importance of discussions to resolve a dispute. At an international level, consider countries with conflicts over trade, borders, or anything for that matter. What diplomats of such countries do is try to come to an accord with discussions, mainly to avoid war. Needless to say, how much money, infrastructure, and problems such as economic crisis are averted because of these discussions to avoid chaos. Similarly, a team of people working on a project in an organization often has internal conflicts. Though minor and sometimes insignificant, these conflicts are solved through discussions only.

Moreover, there are some pressing issues solved with the help of debates between parties of opposing viewpoints. For example, environmentalists, and corporate organizations or factory owners is the perfect example of parties often struggling to come to an agreement. It is only with discussions both parties can be sensitized to the concerns of the other - environmentalists to the economic and job losses related to concerns of corporations, and corporations to the importance of maintaining controlled emissions to save the environment.

In conclusion, it is true that having discussions is the best way for most of the issues involving parties with contrasting points of view. However, there are cases where these discussions may be counter-productive, especially when the dogmatic people with strict adherence to their beliefs are put to a discussion. Therefore, discussions suggested in the prompt must be well-reasoned with an open mind to have the desired results.