Leaders are created by the demands that are placed on them.

Who is a leader? A leader is a person who is followed by others because of his or her charisma and ability to lead people in the right direction. The statement contends that leaders are created by the demands placed on them. Admittedly, the external stimulus is vital for a person to become a leader. However, the inherent qualities of a person that pertains to the leadership principles also contribute toward making a perfect leader. In my opinion, neither the basic qualities required to be an effective leader nor the demands placed by the environment in which we live can be considered the sole factor that contributes to make a person a better leader. It will be clear from the examples discussed below that a perfect blend of both is required.

A leader must exude qualities such as confidence, competence, integrity, and honesty above all to become a successful leader. A perfect blend of these inherent qualities along with the demands placed by the outer environment is what distinguishes a leader from the laity. In politics, a leader has fundamental accountability to cater to the demands of the people they lead. For instance, Martin Luther King Jr. and Mahatma Gandhi, lead civil disobedience movements in U.S. and India respectively. It was not only the demands of their time that spur them with the motivation to lead people but also the humiliation they themselves faced one way or the other was of significant importance. Mahatma Gandhi was pursuing a career as an advocate, it was the mistreatment he realized in South Africa, and the problems of his fellow countrymen that invoke the true leader in him. Although it is true that he was followed by people because of his principles or ideology, one cannot deny the importance of demands placed by all these external factors that contributed to making him such an effective leader.

Some may argue that in the corporate world, leaders are created by their personality traits that show their potential to lead the organization or even be a part of it. Indeed, it is true. However, it would be a mistake to overlook the fact that all the people working in the corporate world are presented with the same opportunities in the initial phase of their careers. Then, it comes down to the person's ability to take on these opportunities, and explore the problems of the industry. This presents another example where personal traits, in addition to the demands placed on a person lead him or her to become a leader.

In conclusion, one can say that both personality traits and demands placed by the surroundings equally take part to make a person into a leader. Needless to say, only the external stimulus alone without the shrewdness to realize the problems, and the courage to speak against what one feels is wrong, or only these personality traits without the demands and situations necessary to use them in analyzing the problem would not work to create a successful leader.