Government should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Is it necessary for any research project to have a well-defined outcome for it to get government funding? The answer to this question is debatable. Admittedly, it does not seem a rational decision at the first glance, to provide funding for scientific research unless it has the potential to find something new. However, the outcome of a research project can never be predicted with certainty. Does this mean that government should not provide funding at all? In my opinion, the feasibility of an innovative idea weighs more than the guarantee to achieve the claimed results, for the scientific research project to be considered good enough for the funding.

Most modern scientific research projects are goal-oriented. Scientists need to go through a comprehensive literature review before presenting an idea for funding. It is only when they can show the feasibility of their idea, and the possibility for innovation can they attract funds. Nonetheless, scientific research outcomes are affected by a number of factors, and any amount of literature review cannot guarantee the results. Tech start-ups prevalent around the world are the perfect example of this. Most of the leading governments are providing funding for such start-up projects trying to innovate a ground-breaking technology. Do they all succeed? Obviously, not. This shows that the potential of the idea to solve a widespread problem is more important than the certainty of its results, to get the funding.

Moreover, history is replete with examples of accidental discoveries. For instance, Fleming's discovery of penicillin, Rontgen's discovery of X-rays, etc. These are examples of research where the outcome was completely unexpected, yet these discoveries are considered the basis for modern medical science. Similarly, the government should not reject a research project's funding proposal only because the results are not clear at the time.

Although one cannot deny that there are more important concerns that deserve government funding than scientific research with uncertain outcomes. For example, the government of a nation suffering from a high percentage of unemployment, poverty, etc. cannot and should not provide funding for such scientific research. Therefore, it's up to the leaders of the nation to decide whether to provide funding or not considering all these factors.

In conclusion, rejecting a funding proposal for scientific research is not a fair choice unless there are other reasons. It is one of the responsibilities of the government to lead the nation to become independent and self-sufficient technology-wise. Yet the final decision should be based on the number of factors affecting the development of the country from all aspects.