Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

At what cost the governments across should sanction a fancy research project? The prompt suggests that governments should not fund scientific research whose outcomes are no clear. I mostly agree with the prompt that a government should only invest in a scientific project whose consequences are foreseeable. Instead of inefficiently funding projects which lack planning, and whose ramifications are random and not determined. Apart from this, projects like these hamper the developmental process of the nation in other pivotal areas.

Firstly, a federal government should be really cautious in granting funds and resources to a project, no matter how novel and innovative, as it might lead to detrimental economic ramifications. The amount of money, time and the resources invested on such research projects can damage the nation irreparably. For instance, Indian government has invested millions of dollars in cleaning the river Ganges over past few years, and all of the projects aimed at doing so have failed. The current condition of the Ganges is no better than the earlier one, and even worse in some parts. Consequently, the spending of the such large amount of resources was futile and the situation only got worse. Therefore, is of paramount importance to conduct proper planning and, predict the outcomes, of course not in a absolute manner, before granting resources for a given project.

Secondly, a government, already struggling with it's economic downfall, should analyse beforehand if a specific research project, whose outcomes are highly unclear, needs to be funded or not. Such projects should be undertaken by the stronger economies, as they can afford to loose the money even if the project fails. The investment in highly risky and outlandish projects precludes the government from solving the rudimentary problems like unemployment, overpopulation, health and sanitation etc. These areas should not be relegated to secondary problems to solve elitist problems. For instance, India which suffers from high poverty and unemployment rate is spending funds on Mars missions, which is of no use to a citizen who has no resources for feeding his/her family. Thus, resources utilised by these "fancy" research projects should be used to solve the basic problems the nation is facing presently.

However, some may argue that inhibiting the funds provided for research projects hinders the scientific development and innovation. I agree with this assertion, but i believe that a nation should be meticulous in analysing the feasibility of a research project before funding it. And, it should also pay attention to the high priority problems which are already existing, instead of being oblivious to them.

Finally, it is highly important to corroborate the scientific development and innovation, as solves the real world problems and pushes the humanity towards advancement and iconoclasm. Nevertheless, these innovation should undertaken based on risk calculation, and only be undertaken by countries who have successfully solved the basic livelihood predicaments.