Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

For the society, to roll on wheels of development, there significant efforts should be put into research of human population well-being and environment preserving. The history shows that the research in any field of science has brought an improvement to the human society to the great extent. But, unfortunately, not all the discoveries made by science have become beneficial for all living population on the planet Earth, or ethical. Therefore, I strongly agree with an author's claim, that governments should not support the financing of any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

First of all, to be able to completely understand the researches' purposes and possible consequences, the governments should be able to understand what plan of research they are presented with. In the case when a person that is responsible for the funding could reject the important medical research plan just because she or he has not completely understood the idea, can lead to lost opportunities and prevent particular medical field from development. Therefore, government ought to employ the team of independent scholars that would be capable to identify the pith, importance of the research, and possible consequences.

Second of all, the designated independent scientists that are responsible for the evaluating the research purpose have to clearly understand all possible outcomes of presented research study. For example, that might be the case, that the research that may lead to the development of alternative and renewable energy production may have a hundred of possible positive outcomes and one, that may lead to the catastrophe. This type of researches should be carefully examined and government should abstain from funding these research.

On the other hand, this type of approach may cut off many opportunities of development of current science.

In recapitulation, the government should carefully examine all the research plans and refuse funding those that may bring unclear results, because uncontrolled discoveries may bring not only the benefits, but harm.