The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper.

Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream — a dairy product made from milk — at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

An author of the letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper claims that the dairy farmers of Relanna have dramatically increased the price of dairy products, blaming them that they are inflating the prices in the Relannian milk market. Author asserts that despite the implementing the innovative technologies that have significantly increased the efficiency of the milking process and lowering the labor costs, dairy farmers increase the prices just for the sake of profit.

However, arguments presented are not sufficient for such inference, as there other contributing components that may influence pricing.

Firstly, the production of milk is a very complex process that have many variables. For example, milk production company may rely on local corps, which annually harvested in the Rellanian area, as a food supply for the cattle. But there might be the case, that for the past two years harvest was poor. And, therefore, milk farmers had to buy more expensive supplies to feed the cows in the farther areas with inevitably higher shipping prices. All these factors have a direct influence on price for the milk products for the retail customers.

Secondly, the aforementioned technologies that replaced the majority of human labor on the diary farm and also have made the milk processing more efficient is also at the milk company’s expense. The costs for this technical improvement that company paid, possibly, was landed by a bank and now farmers have to make monthly payments as a part of the payment plan. Consequently, in order to stay on market and be able to continue their business and cover their expenditures, farmers had to increase the prices on cream.

As a matter of fact, an important factor for the milk production is a cow’s reproduction. Milk production is only possible when a female cow becomes a mother. But information about the calf population rates has been failed to provide. It is possible that there was a significant decline in cow’s reproduction which has led to decrease in milk production, and, as a result, caused impact on cream pricing.

According to the facts listed above, it is obvious that arguments listed in the letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper are not sufficient to make such assertion, as there more contributing factors may influence the milk product prices, such as cow’s food supply, cattle reproduction rate, or high costs of technological upgrade.