The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Relannian newspaper.

Industry analysts report that the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade. Also, recent innovations in milking technology make it possible for farmers to significantly increase the efficiency of the milking process, allowing them to collect more milk in less time with minimal human intervention. In fact, data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. Despite increased efficiency and lower labor costs, a carton of cream — a dairy product made from milk — at the local food market costs twice as much as it did two years ago. The only explanation for this dramatic price increase is that farmers are inflating the price of cream to increase their profits.

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

________________________________________

The writer argues that the reason for the increase in the price of a carton of cream is due to the exploitation of prices by farmers to increase their profits. Although there is room for the argument to be valid, the argument still lies unfounded for many reasons. The letter states that there has been an advancement in technological innovations towards making the milking process efficient. Technologocial advancements such as electronic machines include large fixed costs and maintenance costs, hence if dairy farmers want to maintain their profits they may have to increase prices in order to cover these costs. Therefore perhaps the price increase is not due to the farmers being avaricious but rather them trying to maintain a stable profit in order to run the businesses efficiently.

Secondly, The writer assumes that the only costs that farmers have to face are labour costs and efficiency costs. There are many other costs that have to be incurred when producing a carton of cream such as the cost of materials used to produce a carton. Further, the dairy industry is a competitive industry, as the paragraph states, the number of dairy farms in Relanna has increased by 25 percent over the last decade, hence farmers may have to undergo advertising costs as well to attract customers to buy their product. Thus assuming that there are only two costs that farmers face may leave room for inaccurate conclusions in this argument.

Furthermore, according to the letter, the data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture indicate that labor costs at the majority of Relannian dairy farms are actually lower now than they were ten years ago. The writer must further question how valid the data from the Relannian Department of Agriculture is.Although they say majority of the dairy farms incur less labour costs, this does not mean that all dairy farms are enjoying lower labour costs. Hence there are other factors that should be considered. It is inaccurate to compare data from 10 years ago without looking into extraneous variables such as the state of the economy at the time. Perhaps anachronistically, there may have been a lower supply of employees resulting in higher wages as opposed to know.

Although the price has increased twice as much compared to two years ago we must consider the magnitude of this increase in cream cartons. Have prices of other products such as cheese, bread or milk increased as much. Perhaps there has been an increase in the overall price of goods in the economy due to a recession or a downward cycle in the economy.

In conclusion, the writer must consider all the above factors before making a correlation between the prices of cream cartons and the intent of farmers.