The goal of politics should not be the pursuit of an ideal but rather the search for common ground and reasonable consensus

Politics is of fundamental importance of every individual that exists in this world. Similar to the essential things in our lives like water and air, politics has always been a part of an individual's life since their birth either directly or indirectly whether they know it or know. The behavior of politics can have an influence or impact on citizens and that impact may vary in magnitude which is why we should ensure that the goal of politics is correct and of good intentions.

It is easy for politicians to get carried away with fallacious ideals and exaggerated idealistic statements which could create a diatribe within a nation if certain groups are excluded from political welfare and if common ground is not met. It is important for politicians to be democratic and cater to all individuals in an economy. As Abraham Lincoln averred, "Democracy is for the people, of the people, and by the people". Politicians are elected by the common people with the expectations that those who are elected will consider the common people when making policy decisions.

Further, if the goal of politics was to be the pursuit of ideal, this could possibly lead to inefficient and poor policy decisions due to a lack of proper theoretical analysis or empirical evidence. For example, Policy makers of a less developing economies such as Sri Lanka have had idealistic views to make Sri Lanka the next fast-developing economy like Singapore in the past. Although it is good to be optimistic about a countries development, policies should be based on accurate and immutable facts. The policy makers idealistic goal on making sri lanka the next "Singapore" led to decades of poor policy making with little to no analysis such as making large investments on capital expenditure on tourist sites such as the Lotus tower rather than catering towards the large proportion of children who have been inured to the life of poverty.

Furthermore, a lack of common ground in policy goals may result in violence and uncertainty, For example, the lack of common ground in Sri Lanka between the people and policymakers led to immense violence over the past few months in the form of strikes, protest and finally the impeachment of the president. Hence if policymakers do not consider the search for common ground between them and its people and reasonable consensus, this may lead to uncertainty and dissonance among individuals.

However, it is also worth highlighting that it is not always feasible for politicians to identify a common ground when making policy decisions as there may never be one. There are many varying groups with different opinions and views hence it may be almost impossible for politicians to cater to all individuals and reach a common ground.

In conclusion, there are many factors to consider, however ultimately it is important for the goal of politics to not be the pursuit of an ideal, but rather the search for common ground and reasonable consensus.