The goal of politics should not be the pursuit of an ideal, but rather the search for common ground and reasonable consensus

To some people, ideal sounds almost somewhat impossible goal to achieve. however, even though we cannot pursue an ideal all the time in every political issue, we have to try to get to an ideal, because the meaning of ideal has always changed, and there are political issues that requires ideal, such as education and human rights.

In the past, people thought democracy is an ideal that humans are not prepared to have. however, it became a common ground to have rights to vote and freedom of speech in the usa. if we only search for common ground and reasonable consensus, we would not have been able to change into this society. it was achieved because of politicians who relentlessly tried to realize their ideal, and that effort changed what we believe as norms now. so since meaning of ideal has always changed according to improvements in the society, pursuits of an ideal lead to increasing of well-being.

Also, especially politics related to human rights are improved by pursuing ideal. because those are directly related to well-being of citizens. For example, in south korea, under Park’s regime, which deprived freedom of speech, freedom of publication, and many other violations against human rights, some people believed that we don’t need change in a society, which means that we only need to comply to rules given by the strongest party. however, there were some politicians that denied it and chased ideal to make south korea better place, who led impeachment of the regime. After the impeachment, people all experienced how great it is to achieve ideal, which showed realizing ideal is not an impossible goal.

however, diplomatic politics can’t always pursue ideals, which is better to follow norms. it is because if a nation try to break a norm, it can lead into huge disaster, such as wars. For example, in south korea, ideally, it is better to remove north korea, since south korea and north korea are still under Korean war. however, it is better to solve conflicts according to common ground and consensus between usa, China, Russia, and all other countries. Therefore, when chasing ideals can bring more conflicts, it is better to avoid it.

In conclusion, it is partly true that the goals of politics should be searching for common ground and reasonable consensus, if pursuing ideal is harmful. however, trying to get an ideal can make a society better, and if it is related to human rights, doing so is effectively make many citizens’ lives better.new roman",serif; mso-fareast-font-family:"Times new roman"">