An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

According to the paragraph, it claims that the government of Tagus should promote the new millets to solve the problem of vitamin A dificiency. it might seem resonable to insisit the opinion above using the reasons the author used to support the idea, there are three assumptions that the author made which should be examined to strengthen the idea.

First, the author assumes that people can digest vitamin A in a new millet efficiently, which might not be true. For example, carrots cannot be digested without help of oils, which means that even though a person increases taking of carrots, if the person doesn't take it with proper amount of oil, there isn't much benefit, which means not all the nutrients that people intake can be digested well without help of other material. if it is also the case of vitamin A in the new millet, making people have more new millet will not be beneficial unless people eat it properly.

Secondly, the author assumes that giving farmers subsidies would be enough motivation to maintain the policy. even if the government starts to promote the millet, if there are huge changes to grow new millet compared to traditional millets, farmers choose to reverse to the traditional millets. if it is true, promotions of new millet would not be sufficient policy to combat vitamin A dificiency.

Lastly, there could be other cheaper ways to solve the vitamin A dificiency problem. Since the cost of new millet is higher than the natural millets that the government has to give subsidies to the farmers, if the amount of subsidies is bigger than for example, giving its citizens pills for vitamin A, it would be reasonble to give its citizens pills instead of promoting to change its millet that people have grown into the new one. Therefore we have to compare the cost between other alternative ways to deal with the dificiency problem.

In conclusion, we need to see if increase of vitamin A in the new millet can be digested well that people can experience health benefits, and if there are any other costs that farmers have to pay to grow new millets, and if there are any alternative policies that cost less.