"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author insists that the television station has to reverse its news format to previous one. It might seem resonable opinion but there are three evidences that should be discussed to support this claim.

First, the author assumes that number of complaints they recieve necessarily means their viewers are not satisfied as before. However, since the viewers who are satisfied with the news material wouldn't call and send message to complain, there should be a survey to see what overall opinions of the viewers are. According to the result of this survey, the author's claim could be strengthen or weaken.

Second, we have to check if there are changes in the number of veiwers of the news. Since these days, people's lifestyles have changed as people started to check news through internet, there could be changes in the number of people watching the show not necessarily due to its changes of news format. If it is true, reversing the format to previous wouldn't be able to attract businesses again.

Third, we have to check if there aren't any other news program that covers similar materials before this news starts. If there are new news stations that covers a similar news right before the news start, changing the broadcasting time could be better than changing its format to previous one or changing news format into reporting what other news don't would have more postive effects.

In conclusion, to evaluate this claim, we have to see what majority of the viewers thinks about the news, if there isn't any change in the number of viewers, and there aren't any competitiors.