“Over the past year, our late night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of l

In the argument, the business manager recommends to restore the time devoted to weather and local news to former level so that the television station would not lose any further advertising revenues. To bolster the recommendation, the manager cited that most complaints to them are concerned with their coverage on weather and local new. In addition, the manage also indicates that local business has canceled advertising contracts with the station. However, careful examination of the evidences used by the manager reveals that the evidences lends little credible support to the manager's recommendation, rendering it unfounded as it stands.

Firstly, the manager cited that most of the complaints received are related to their weather and local news, implying that the audience is not satisfactory with their reduction in the time devoted for weather and local news. However, the content of the complaints might not represent the true situation. For example, people willing to complain to the station might only cover a tiny part of the whole audience, making the complaint content not representative. The detailed content of the complaints might also be related with the inaccuracy of the weather reports instead of the decrease in time. People might also complain about the boring quality of local news. Before confirming the complaint number and detailed content, it could not be concluded that the audience are discontent with the decrease in time of weather and local news.

Secondly, the manager mentioned that local business hav just canceled their advertising contracts with the station, aiming to prove that local business are not satisfied with the advertising effect after the change in new coverage. In fact, there could be other reasons that have caused the local business to cancal contracts. It is entirely likely that current economy is being confronted with a recession and many companies have either met slump in profit or bankrupted. In this case they are no longer able to invest greatly in advertisements. Before investigating and finding out the exact reason for their cancelling in advertisement, we could not be convinced that the local business is not satisfied with the change in program content.

Moreover, the manage implies that by restoring the time devoted to weather and local news to previous level, the advertising revenue would be well preserved. However, many factors might have changed since the previous adjustment in program content. For instance, people might have got disappointed with the adjustment and no longer care about the situation of late-night news program. They might have found other channels with abundant coverage on weather and local news and stick to those programs. Other forms of information source like the Internet might also have got their fondness. These factors could all lead to prolonged low watch rate of late-night news program. Before ruling out the facors above, it is too hasty to conclude that by restoring the time their advertisement revenue could be maintained.

In sum, evidence utilized by the manager lends little support to the conclusion, rendering the recommendation unconvincing as it stands. To bolster the argument, the manager should study the detailed complaints they have received. In addition, he or she would also have to investigate the exact reasons why local business cancelled their advertising contracts.