The following appeared in a memo from the director of a large group of hospitals."In a laboratory study of liquid antibacterial hand soaps, a concentrated solution of UltraClean produced a 40 percent greater reduction in the bacteria population than did t

The direcor of a large group of hospitals recommends all the hospitals to use the UltraClean hand soap to prevent serous patient infection. To buttress the argument, the result of a lab study is cited indicating UltraClean could decrease batria populaiton. In addition, it is also mentioned that patient infection has reduced greatly in the hospital where UltraClean is tested. However, careful examination of the memo shows that the argument of the director relies on several unfounded assumptions, rendering the conclusion unconvincing as it stands.

First of all, the author cited a lab study of the hand soaps, the result of which showed that the solution of UltraClean led to a 40 percent greater decrease in the bacteria population than did the liquid hand soaps being used in the hospital. To bolster the implication that the UltraClean solution is more effective than the liquid hand soaps currently in use, the author depends on the underlying assumption that less bacteria population means better effect in preventing infections in hospitals, which is not sufficiently supported by the director. There is possiblity that the variations inflated with the UltraClean solution than the traditional liquid hand soaps. It is also likely that the temperature in the lab study is different from that in the hospitals, making it hard to apply the study result to the hospitals. Without making these possibilities clear, we could not be convinced merely by the study result cited by the director.

Secondly, the author mentioned the fact that in the hospital where UltraClean is tested, patient infection tremendously decined compared with other hospitals in the group. The assumption made by the director is that the decrease in patient infection should all be attributed to the application of UltraClean. However, other information concerning the differences between the hospital tested and other hospitals is not provided, which could do great contribution to the final infection rate. For instance, the hospital where the test takes place might have just arranged patients into a new building where each of them occupies one single room and thus reduce the contamination possibility. Infection rate in this hospital might also increased after the use of UltraClean, with much greater increase in other hospitals, as a result of which the general patient infection in this hospital is significantly fewer than the other ones. Without detailed investigation into such differences, it is too early to attribute the result of fewer patient infection to the applicaiton of UltraClean.

Finally, the author recommends that UltraClean should be supplied to all hand-washing stations throughout the hospital system to prevent serioud patient infections. In this recommendation the director presumes that UltraClean would show its efficacy of reducing patient contamination in all the hospitals. However, in fact, the effect of UltraClean in all the hospitals might not appear as expected because the conditions and situations of the hospitals might vary. Some hospitals might lack enough money to maintain an effective infection prevention system and patients might have to be exposed at risks of various infections and contaminations. Other hospitals could be facing or going to meet seasonal waves of patient with highly infectious diseases like the H1N1 flu, which tend to elevate the infection rate even UltraClean is introduced. Without ruling out such factors, we could not be convinced that the application of UltraClean would prevent serious patient infections.

In sum, the memo of the director relies on several unsubstantiated assumptions, rendering the conclusion unconvincing as it stands. To bolster the conclusion, the director should investigate detailed reason of the decline of patient infections in the hospital UltraClean is tested.