For success in a future job, the ability to relate well to people is more important than studying hard in school.

Some people might get along very well with others despite of little knowledge or capability. Some others have been studying diligently in school, as a result of which relationship with others are much weaker. There is sure to be conflict about which type of life is better for a career. As far as I am concerned, to study hard in school would yield better result than just getting along well with others.

Admittedly, to get along with others well is very useful for a man in a career. Relating with others well at least means the communication skills are guaranteed. In many cases practical communication skills are very efficient tool to gain trust of colleagues. To be in good relationships with others also means that others are more willing to help you once you are in trouble rather than a person who is disliked by others. What's more, if in a team there is someone who get along with others very well, the friendly atmosphere would improve the productivity of the whole team.

However, that doesn't means studying hard in school is of little importance. In fact, to spend much time in school study would usually build up the knowledge basis for you. Take the computer science field as example, if someone studies very hard at school, his skill in algorithm, coding and problem analysis would outperform many others. Reliable foundation of knowledge and skills can lead to reliance in teams while working. Colleagues would be more likely to ask you difficult problems, which would be easier to solve with solid foundation. Gradually you would gain trust and reliance of your colleagues. After some time there is chance that you have become the core of your team. That would tremendously improve your job career.

When comparing the importance of the two aspects, studying hard is more important than relating well with people. Basic ability and skills are required for those who related rather well with surrounding people. If they are deprived with their knowledge and skill, then it's likely that they have to beg others for problem solutions. What's even worse, elaborated explanation might be needed for them to understand other's solutions. With favor increasing, such kind of people tend to be looked down upon and kept away with by others. Instead, for a person who keeps working hard both in school and at work, others tend to provide help voluntarily even not asked for. Knowledge basis would also ease the communication barrier in professional problems. Therefore, relating well with people is actually predicated upon hard-working life in school.

In sum, both relating well with others and diligent study in school are very important. Considering that the former is based on the latter, there is no excuse for every one of us to relax in school.