Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study. Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sur

Is it beneficial to spend time studying courses outside one's own field in leisure time? Probably most people would answer yes since knowledge outside a single field might do contributions to the major field in the future. Then what if universities demand every students to take various courses outside their own field of study? The respond might begin to vary. Some people may deem that such requirement would waste much of students' study time for their major field. Personally, I contend that universities should offer chances and resources for students to study lessons irrelevant with their own field instead of forcing all of them to take such courses.

Firstly, it is understandable that some people advocate students to study courses different from their major field. Every subject is supported by many other subjects. For example, computer science students with electronics and electrical knowledge may better understand how signals are generated and processed in computers. Chemistry researchers could utilize quantum physics knowledge to advance their molecular study. By studying courses outside one's own field, his or her knowledge can be broadened and understanding of the major field might be enhanced. There are also chances that one may find the subject he or she is truly devoted to while learning other courses, leading to the adjustment of career path to a more satisfactory direction.

However, the commitment that study in irrelevant field is beneficial is unsubstantiated for the whole general students in universities. Study in university is a period within a few years during which one need to master the essential knowledge and skills in his or her major subject. To force every students to spend time in various courses irrelevant to his own field could deviate students' attention and energy as well as wasting time which could be used for study of their major subject, since not all knowledge from other fields could be useful for the major field. For instance, a students majored in engineering might have great difficulty in understanding the concepts in English literature. Moreover, examinations of these courses could deprive a large part of students' spare time, thus their learning on the major field might be hindered.

Considering possible consequences of obligatory curriculum scheme, universities shall provide students with sufficient eclectic professional courses and option for them to make their own choices on which subjects to study to make sure they can benefit from knowledge of other fields while preventing possible consequences of obligatory irrelevant courses. For students with determined career path, they could select those courses which is most pertinent with his future career and build up related abilities, without spending much time for lessons and exams impertinent with their future careers. For those without determined career direction, they could also dive into various options of professional courses, in which they might find the most interested subject.

In sum, universities should provide sufficient course and facility resources to students and let they themselves make choices on courses to study instead of forcing all of them to learn a variety of lesson outside their own field of study.