Some people believe that college students should consider only their own talents and interests when choosing a field of study. Others believe that college students should base their choice of a field of study on the availability of jobs in that field.Writ

Should the selection of which field to study be based on the job availability? It's true that the number of jobs is important in the consideration process. But is this the sole factor to be taken into account or other aspect like talent and interest are also necessary? In my view, the selection of field of study should be based on the availability of job opportunities as well as personal talent and interest.

First of all, job availability is of vital importance for college students. The target of college education is to train students with knowledge and skills from a certain field so that they are capable of making a living with their own hands once graduated. The primary goal for a newly graduated college student is to find a satisfactory job and make use of his or her knowledge and skills. A field with shrinking market as well as job numbers would lead students within that field to a tough situation once they graduate, even if they possess great passion for that field. For example, a student who chose to major in physics out of love in physical laws when entering college may find there is little institutions or companies recruiting physics graduates, thus he or she has to select occupations from alternative fields, resulting in the years spent on physics of little usage.

Secondly, selection of learning field should also take considerations on personal talent into account. The availability of jobs should not be the sole factor one considers when entering college. People are born to be different, thus might vary in the fields where one could perform well and badly. If a student with gifted understanding in biology and life science choose to major in computer science simply because of the surge of job opportunities recent years in the latter field, he or she might experience much more difficulty in understanding computer architecture and related courses, which could tremendously damage his or her confidence in personal ability and lead to bad performance on computer science courses. In this case where the talent of oneself does not match with the most popular field in the job market, personal gift should be carefully considered when choosing which field to major in.

Moreover, interest is also an essential part in the evaluation of selection of majority fields. Different students might find disparate disciplines which attract them mostly. Some student may get kindled when analyzing business cases whilst some could show extraordinary passion for history courses. Personal interest also plays a vital part in propelling students to dive into deeper areas in a specific field. Without enough interest in communication courses, one tend to find the principles of communication and code designing much more boring than reading political analysis in the library. Tens of years could be spent in one immutable field for many people, which could become miserable torture for those not interested. If one student is clear about what field of study appeals mostly to himself or herself, selection is no longer difficult to make.

In sum, considerations on the choice of which field to study in college should take all of job availability, talent and personal interest into account. Only by balancing the three factors, students could make the optimal choice.