The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statemen

Is the general welfare of people an indicator of the greatness of the nation? Probably the answer is yes for many people since the welfare of people is the basis for the development of one nation. But is this the only indicator of whether a nation is excellent or not? Achievements of people in the nation, like rulers, artists and scientists, are also important criterion for the judgement of whether a country is great or not.

To begin with, the achievements of a nation's ruler is directly connected with the development situation of a country. Great rulers tend to perform well on securing the country and leading social and economic development. George Washington, the first American president, led the suppressed people to fight against the colonists and won the war, after which the United States of America was born. He also played an important role in the making of the first constitution of US in 1787. Abraham Lincoln, one of the greatest American presidents in history, has successfully pushed the enforcement of the abolition of slavery in US. He, as the leader of the united nation, also won the Civil War, preventing the schism of America. His accomplishment has left a tremendous impact in world history as a great leader of US. America in their presidency deserves to be called a great nation.

Secondly, art plays a vital part in human society. Genius artists keep attracting people from worldwide and purifying their spirits with artists' impressive masterpieces. Leonardo da Vinci is a gifted Italian painter in the Renaissance period. His most famous work, Mona Lisa, has proved its value as one of the most precious painting in human history. Michelangelo, the great Italian sculpture artist, also left his impact in history with his sculpture works like the David. Their works have attracted millions even billions of people to enjoy the extreme beauty in museums. It's undeniable to praise Italy during the Renaissance period a great nation.

Moreover, advances in science should not be ignored since it has profoundly changed the way people understand the world. Newton, the English physicist, has enlightened the whole world with his law of general gravitation and the laws of motion. His works reveals law of forces and motion from apples to planets. It was his research that opened the door to modern science. Maxwell, the physicist who pointed out the rules of electric between magnet, clear the barriers on the way to utilizing electric and magnet for humans. With them, England is sure to be called a great nation.

In sum, the general welfare of people should not be the only indicator of a great nation. Accomplishments of its ruler, artists and scientists are also vital judgement criterions.