"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are n

The owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex has made an assertion in his letter to the manager of the complex stating that by restricting the waterflow of the showerheads throughout all the twelve buildings in the complex would lead to greater improvement in profit. To support his conclusion, he predicts the water fee after the modification is going to decline. Additionally he also cites that few problems have been found since the modification. Although the argument by the owner seems convincing, several critical questions must be answered before we could take faith in the prediction.

To begin with, the owner believes that the water fee paid by the Sunnyside Corporation would decrease after the modification. However the owner has not checked the actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment, thus no evidence is given to support the prediction. Is it possible that water usage would stay unchanged or even increase after the adjustment? In fact, it is entirely possible that the modification woud lead to little change or even reverse change in water usage as the owner expected. For instance, people living in those buildings might increase the time to collect the same amount of water as before after they found the change in maximum water flow. Some of them could have underestimated the amount of water already collected due to the restricted water flow and got too much more water than before. Without considering these factors, we can hardly be convinced in the prediction that water usage would decline after the change.

Secondly, the author claims that problems with the showerhead have been reported other than some complaints on the water pressure, implying that no other problems have occured due to the adjustment. However, is the small number of complaints reported revealing the actual satisfactory attitude of the dwellers in those buildings? There is possibility for other situations. For example, some problems with the pipes and normal water flow might have been fixed up by the house owners themselves. People might also have chosen to hire professional workers to cope with some severe problems with the water flow out of inconfidence in the management apartment. Other people could have directly reconstructed their water supply system to restore previous maximum water flow and hide the fact. Without ruling out these factors, the conclusion that no problems have occured is not sufficiently cogent.

Moreover, the author of the letter recommends the same modification to be made in all the twelve buildings in the complex, assuring that woud result in more dramatic inflation in profit of the company. To expect the same effct in the other buildings as the previous 3 buildings, the conditions of the buildings are required to be similar enough. However, is the situations of the other buildings similar enough with that of the previous 3 buildings so that they could be compared together? It is entirely possible that the owners of houses in the other 9 buildings tend to use rather amount of water regardless of maximum water flow, which would break the illusion of decreased water usage. They could also be likely to complain to the owner of the complex because of trivial problems in the water supply, making the owner of the complex busy with processing various complaints. It is also probable for some of them to unite as a whole to demand the company to restore the maximum water flow of showerheads so as to protect their own rights, in which case the modification might not get successfully done. Without considering these factors, it's unconvincing tho predict that the generalization of the adjustment would lead to profit increase.

In sum, the author failed to provide sufficiently cogent answers to several critical questions, rendering the recommendation unfounded as it stands. To bolster the claim, the owner of the complex should investigate the change of actual water usage before and after the modification. In addition, he should also survey about the dwellers' opinion about the modification.