"A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the posi

Some people contend that all students in one nation should study the same curriculum before college. It is true that this policy would reduce educational inequaty among different regions. However, this policy might also bring some harmful effects. In my view, the recommendation that a nation should require all of its students to study the same curriculum before college would bring more negative consequences rather than benefits.

Admittedly, to demand all students in one nation to study the same courses before college is beneficial in some aspects. As we know, the economic development situation of difference regions tend to vary across the country. To ensure the same national curriculum would guarantee that all children in the country are able to learn the same lessons, which is helpful to eliminate educational inequaty. In addition, the curriculum designed by a national institution would avoid low quality curriculums made by some local institutions while maintaining the quality of education before university.

However, the unified national curriculum might also bring some disadvantages. Different students tend to possess various talents as well as interests. Helen might be good at history while Martin could do well in math. John might be fond of literary while Natin might prefer physics. If the policy is carried out which forces all the students to study the same curriculum, students might be forced to study lessons they are not interested in and take corresponding exams, which might cost much of their time. If their performance in some uninterested classed are bad, students might got discouraged and gradually their enthusiasm for study might begin to wane. Such result would only be harmful to their study, especially when they are not old enough to overcome the psychological barriers.

Furthermore, a nationally unified curriculum is not beneficial for cultural preservation in some countries with many minority ethnics like China and USA.

In some ancient ethnics in China rich ancient culture like crafts is still maintained today. Commonly there is no enough budget in a unified course plan to introduce cultures of some minority ethnics in detail. Children from those ethnics would not be provided with enough introduction about their own cultural relics. Gradually there would be fewer and fewer people interested in the minor cultures, resulting in the loss of them and damage to cultural preservation.

In sum, the policy that requires all students in a nation to study the same curriculum might bring more disadvantages rather than benefits. Before carrying out such a policy, detailed examination of the nation itself and possible consequences must be well considered.