Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supp

Is the choice to study in fields with lucrative careers beneficial to students? Probably most people would answer yes since a lucrative career could enable students with the ability to live on themselves. Then should educational institutions encourage their students to choose those fields? Some may agree on this, while others may contend that such actions by educational institutions would do harm to students' personal development if students are not interested in those fields. In my view, educational institutions should provide eclectic resources and leave to students themselves the choice of which field to study.

First of all, to study in a field with promising lucrative career does benefit to college students. For many students, the study in colleges is their last period of learning, after which they would begin to work in the society and live on their own. As a result, they need to equip themselves with sufficient knowledge and skills in the college years to ensure themselves competitive in the job market. Students who have majored in the fields with abundant job opportunities and high salaries, like the artificial intelligence field these years, tend to gain a larger probability in general than other students once they graduate from colleges. In this way, the positive effect of the encouragement to choose fields with a lucrative prospect from higher educational institutions on students is unquestionably reasonable.

However, fields with the best money prospect varies with time. In human society, the greater the demand for talents from a specific field is, the higher the wages of people in that field could be, which has been proven by history. The demand for specific talents, thereby, follows the latest advancement of technology throughout the world. In the second half of the twentieth century, when integrated circuits was invented and related industries began to boom, electronic graduates could often get jobs with satisfactory salaries. While in the last 5 years, when artificial intelligence is attracting the whole world's attention, graduates from related backgrounds are valued by the largest companies like Google and Facebook. It cannot be guaranteed what technology prevails now would continue to flourish after 20 years. So there exist risks if educational institutions recommend all the students to study the hottest fields.

Furthermore, discrepancies exists among students and their talents as well as interests differentiate with each other, which indicates that all the students learning similar courses might not lead to a positive result. For instance, a student might be interested in human history, it would be tough for the students to follow the recommendations of institutions to learn finance principles. A student gifted in chemistry may found computer science courses rather boring. Students studying disciplines beyond their interest or talent might be confronted with confidence problems and lose enthusiasm for learning. Their precious time in school might also be wasted, which if spent in their favorite subjects might lead to outstanding prowess. To avoid such cases, educational institutions shall provide students with chances to select of the field to study, so that their study plan would fit themselves most.

In sum, students should be given the chance to choose which field to study and educational institutions need to provide sufficient resources in various field to meet the demands of students. In this way students could be supplied with sufficient resources and able to utilize their talent and interest to lead to satisfactory career.