Teachers should not make their social or political views known to students in the classroom

For some social events like world climate conference, there is no definitely right answer for it as the opinions differ according to the standing of everyone. At this time, there might be both positive and negative effects if teachers let students know their own views on these events. In my view, the effect of teachers making their social or political views known to student would be generally positive rather than negative.

Admittedly, students can get access to mature view points of social or political events if teachers decide to spread their own opinions to the students. Students in elementary and middle school are not old enough to view and experience various social events. At the same time they are usually quite dependent on their teachers who deliver lessons to them day and day. If teachers' mature views can be effectively taught to students, they can be encouraged to contemplate on social events at an early stage, leading to nourishment of their critical thinking ability.

However, teachers are not perfect. Although most teachers have received professional training on teaching before taking their jobs, not all of them have received professional lessons on social and political events. This means that their views on social events might not always be well-considered enough. Some deeper aspects of impact of social events could be ignored by them. In some extreme cases, opinions of some teachers might be biased over specific problems. If such views are delivered to very young children in elementary schools, their mind development can be severely harmed.

To tackle this contradiction and try to make the most contribution to students in schools, there can be another solution to this problem. If teachers only tell students their own opinions and force students to acknowledge them, it may cause damage to students' esteem as well as healthy thinking ability development. But if the personal opinions of teachers are followed by encouragement of creative thinking and discussion, then it would be nice chance to introduce various types of views, in addition to the comparison of multiple views. In this way, students' interest in social events would be effectively utilized and their critical thinking ability and even persuasion ability can be honed.

In sum, there can be positive effect if teachers let their views on social or political events known to students, if accompanied by encouragement of critical thinking and comparison of different views.