"A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college." - Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the posi

Some people advocate that a nation should demand all the students to study a unified curriculum before college while some oppose. A unified curriculum across the country might be beneficial in some aspects. However, in my view, it is not practical for a nation to require all of its students to study the same national curriculum before going to university.

To begin with, the avocation that all students in a country are required to study the same curriculum from elementary school to high school is beneficial in some ways. A unified curriculum designed by the national government can ensure all the students receive the same content of education before college, in which way educational equality can be guaranteed despite of regional discrepancies on economic development. It would also be much simpler for colleges to design standards to enroll students as well as curriculums in the college years since the unified curriculum can eliminate the necessity of auxiliary courses which might be imposed on students to ensure the uniformed education level before studying in college. In this way, a national curriculum can do substantial contributions to the society as well as students.

However, we cannot ignore the practical difficulty of implementation of such a policy which completely ignores the developmental differences among different regions inside a country. For many countries economic gaps exist between large cities and peripheral cities as well as urban and rural areas. If the curriculum is designed according to educational resources in big cities rich in facilities and experienced teachers, it might be too tough a task for rural schools to complete teaching goals. Conversely, if the making of the curriculum considered the actual development situation of most rural areas in the nation, the abundant resources in affluent areas could not get sufficiently utilized and parents in those regions might demonstrate such a waste of resource, which could have been used to promote the study of their children.

Furthermore, cultural preservation might conflict with a nationally unified curriculum. For countries with multiple races and cultures like China and America, it is rather difficult for a national curriculum to cover all the various cultures in limited courses. The most prevailing culture is commonly selected as the major culture of the nation, which would result in ignorance of some minor cultures. In this case, preservation of such culture could face unexceptional tough situation. Minor cultures could begin to devolve and finally diminish with fewer and fewer people knowing about. Precious cultural relics like folk songs and ancient languages might gradually become antiques in the passage of time. So for nations with multiple cultures, a national curriculum before college is not a good choice.

In sum, the requirement that all of students in a nation should study the same curriculum before college is not practical. Curriculum design should take regional economic development and ethnic culture into consideration.