Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

Is public opinion important for leader of a nation? The answer is probably yes since the general public is the basis of a nation. Then should a leader adhere to particular principles even at the sacrifice of disagreeing with the public? The responds might vary since some dictators might also share such feature. In my view, a leader should stay committed to particular principles and objectives which are vital for the long-term development of the country.

To begin with, it is understandable that some people contend that political leaders must always follow the public opinion and quit some principles when needed as compromise. For a modern country, democracy is often one of the fundamental principles the nation depends on. To be democratic, important political events like president election and foreign policy making should be completed in a way with the general participation of citizens. Once a leader drop the principle of following the will of citizens, he or she could become a dictator with only passion for his or her own power instead of the overall future of the nation and its citizens. In that case, the citizens might be imposed with severe tax and fierce laws without recognition of humanity and modern moral notions. Frequent wars might begin and price of goods begin to inflate, when families are torn apart. Life of common citizens could be miserable without restriction on political leaders from the general public.

However, public opinion could sometimes be misguided or exploited by cunning plotters to achieve their own purposes. Several years ago mass waves of refugees from the Middle East countries like Syria asked for citizenship in developed Europe countries like Germany and France. Refugees, compared to native citizens in the developed European countries, are commonly less educated without either enough skills to find a job or sufficient money to build a shelter. At first leaders of the European countries insisted on strict admitting policy. But they later have to open gates of their countries to let the less qualified people in after a global wave of media reports on the sympathy affections with the refugees. As a consequence, the refugees have greatly lifted the crime rates of burglary, robbing and even rape in those admitted countries, which has severely deteriorated the living quality of the native citizens of those nations. If leaders could stick on the principles of scrutinizing quality of admitted foreign citizens in their countries, living situation could have not worsened so quickly.

Considering that too much power could transform a qualified leader into a dictator, there should also be supervision institutes watching the behaviors of nation leaders. As stated above, in critical situations a leader with consistency with nexus principles and targets could guide the nation in a more promising way. There could also be cases in which the leader have engaged in some conspiracies for personal/family power and interest. In these situations, supervision institutes ought to examine and evaluate the possible consequences of the choices made by the leader with sensible minds. Once the approach the leader choose to adopt is considered to be imbalanced with more negative effects, measures could be taken to hinder the leader and keep the nation on the right track.

In sum, a leader who could stay committed to particular principles and objectives which are vital for the long-term development of the country would produce more promising decisions.