Several years ago, Groveton College adopted an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which

In the argument, the author recommends all colleges and universities to carry out similar policy of honor code as that in Groveton College to reduce students' cheating. To suppor the argument, the author cited the fact that cheating reported by teachers in GC(Groveton College) decline after the honor code policy as well as one survey indicating a majority of students in GC agree on the positive effect of the policy. Although the argument seems convincing, careful scrutiny of the evidences reveals that there exist several critical questions to be answered before we could acknoledge the effectiveness of honor code.

Firstly, in the argument it's cited that cheating cases reported by the teachers decline from 30 percent to 21 one year after the policy's execution and to 14 after 5 years. However, it has to be put forward that whether the actual cheating rate has really devolved. SInce close examination of teachers has been cancelled, a great number of plagerization cases might have remained undiscovered. Even if the actual cheating rate has reduced, does the decrease result from the honor code policy? It's entirely possible that GC has been recruting much students with much higher grades and virtue, who regard cheating as a shame, just after the policy with its improved facilities and professors than before. Without considering these other factors, it's not sufficiently cogent to state that it's the honor code policy that lead to the decrease in plagerization.

Secondly, the author claimed that in a recent survey the major part of Groveton students replied with positive attitude in reducing cheating behaviors with the honor code than without. Whilist the result seems persuasive, we have to ask whether the survey is conducted in the right way. There is possibility that the respondents of the survey only convered a tiny part of students with relatively better habits, thus the result cannot represent the general situation. It's also likely that students are afraid of the consequences of replying negatively in the survey if it was conducted by their teachers. What's more, they might also tend to make positive replies when investigation is carried out when they are accompanied by their borfriend/girlfriend. Before providing satisfactory answers to such questions above, result of the survey could not become effective proof of the policy.

Finally, the author contends that all colleges and universities should take on similar measure as replacing strict scrutiny with honor code policy to improve the cheating situation among students. However, the effect of the policy demands that conditions of all other colleges and universities to be the same as those of GC, which is difficult in reality. For instance, GC might be the national top college with best students enrolled while students in other colleges perform no better than them, causing cheating phenomenon more frequent in other colleges even with students' promises not to cheat. To make it worse, removing tough check of teachers on plagerization might also encourage students to cheat. Without consideration on the differences between GC and othe colleges, the effectiveness of honor code in other colleges could not be guaranted.

In sum, the author failed to provide satisfactory answers to several critical questions above, rendering the argument not convincing as it stands. To bolster the argument, it's needed to provide sufficient evicence showing the concrete relationship between the policy and the decrease in cheating in GC. Additionally, the credibility of the survey's result is also required.