The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company."Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One

The personnel director of the Acme Publishing company recommends the company to demand every employee to take the Easy Read course. To substantiate the recommendation, the director cited that one graduates can read a 500-page reports within 2 hours and another got promoted after finishing the course. However, careful examination of the argument reveals the recommendation to be unconvincing before several critical questions could be answered.

Firstly, the director did not provide enough information on the improvement of the speed reading course for the graduate who was able to read a 500-page report in two hours. Does the graduate could undertake the report reading task with such a speed before the course? Is the report made up with mainly text or figures? There is possibility that the graduate was already good at speed reading before the course. The 500-page report might costs the graduate even less than two hours before taking the course. The report, although with a large number of pages, could consists mainly of large figures and pictures. Without providing answers to related questions like above, the director could not convince us that the speed reading course can lift the reading speed tremendously.

Secondly, the director fails to offer detailed reason for the promotion of the graduate who rose from an assistant manager to vice president in less than one year. Is the graduate from top universities which are strongly favored by senior members of the company? Does the graduate work hard in the company? There is possibility that the diligence of the graduate was appreciated by the senior members of the company and lead to his promotion. Also we could not deny the probability that the graduate got the chance of promotion due to his family relationship. Before answering these questions we could not be convince that the promotion of the graduate results from the participation of the speed reading course.

Moreover, the director might have made a wrong judgement about the cost of the reading course while contending that $500 per employee is a small price for the Acme Publishing Company. We have to ask a few questions about the operation situation about the Acme company. Is the Acme company sufficiently abundant in money to afford the price of $500 per employee? Is current economic situation as well as promise of the publishing industry positive enough? It is possible that the Acme company is only a small company with limited profit every year, thus to afford the price of $500 per employee is too heavy a burden. The publishing industry might be on a path of declining with fewer and fewer people buying books these years. Without ruling out these possibilities, the conclusion that $500 per employee is affordable for Acme company could not be reached.

In sum, the director fails to provide sufficiently cogent answers to several critical questions, rendering the recommendation unfounded as it stands. To bolster the recommendeation, the director should investigate the actual improvement of the course on speed reading. In addition, the director should also gather information about financial situation of the Acme company.