The president of Grove College has recommended that the college abandon its century-old tradition of all-female education and begin admitting men. Pointing to other all-female colleges that experienced an increase in applications after adopting coeducatio

The president of GC(Grove College) recommends the college to drop the tradition as a all-female institute and begin enrolling male students. To support his claim, he cited the examples of other all-female colleges, indicating that their application and enrollment tremendously rose after the adoption of coeducation. Although the evidence seems concinving, careful examination reveals that several critical questions must be addressed before we can reach his conclusion that enrollment of Grove College would also increase after adopting the policy.

Firstly, there might be no consequential relationship between the quit of all-female tradition and the rise in application and enrollment in the all-female colleges cited by the president. Although the increase might occur just after the drop of the policy, it's entirely possible that it was other reasons that led to the result. For instance, those colleges might have introduced some renowned lecturers as well as courses to consolidate their lesson quality. Chances also exist that there have been great amount of investment on various research projects in those colleges recent years, attracting more students to participate in. Moreover, those colleges could be expanding their enrollment with lower standards. Thus it's difficult to convince us that it's the adoption of coeducation policy that made the major contribution to the increase in applicaiton and enrollment in those colleges.

Secondly, the adoption of coeducaiton policy might not perform satisfactory functions even though introduced to Grove College. It is implied by the president by citing the cases of other colleges' coeducaiton that the policy would also succeed in GC, which require the conditions of GC and the other colleges should be at similar level. However, it's possible that GC locates in the countryside far away from the nearest city whilist other colleges are in downtowns of large cities, making GC less appealing to young students. Research equipments of other colleges might be far more advanced than those in GC. It's also likely that there are few big companies near GC, leading to the employment after graduation much tougher than that of other colleges, which might be in the neighborhood of large companies. Without considering and ruling out these factors, it's too early to make the prediction that the coeducation policy in GC would succeed in attracting application.

Finally, the director of alumnae association argues the all-female education is the necessary feature of the college, citing surveys of incoming students and Grove alumnae, in which all-female status is strongly recommended, as evidence. However, questions about whether these surveys are effective evidence must also be put forward. As most surveys are voluntary, the interviewees tend to be those interested in the subject. Thus the respondents might be only a tiny part of the whole general, in which case the survey result cannot represent the general situation. Questions on the surveys could also be specially designed so as to guide the respondents to support the all-female policy. In such cases, the general attitude of current students and alumnae could not be effectively garnered. Before providing satisfactory answers to these questions, the effectiveness of the survey results cited by the director could not be taken as useful evidence.

In summary, several essential questions must be addressed before accepting the conclusion that enrollment of GC would rise after adopting the coeducation policy. To bolster the conclusion, detailed comparison of GC and those colleges which have adopted the policy as well as cogent evidence on the effectiveness of the surveys cited by the director should be provided.