"A jazz music club in Monroe would be a tremendously profitable enterprise. Currently, the nearest jazz club is 65 miles away; thus, the proposed new jazz club in Monroe, the C-Note, would have the local market all to itself. Plus, jazz is extremely popul

The author contends that a new jazz music club would be an enormously lucrative enterprise. To support the judgement, the author cited the evidence that a number of people attended the jazz festival last summer and the fact that several jazz musicians live in Monroe. Although it seems convincing, careful examination of the evidences reveal that they lend little credible support to the author's claim, rendering the argument unfounded as it stands.

To begin with, the author believes that the proposed new jazz club in Monroe would conquer the local market due to the fact that the nearset jazz club is 65 miles far away. However, there is no evidence showing that the proposed club could attract local jazz fans simply due to geographical reason. It's entirely possible that people would still prefer the old jazz club owing to their habits and familiar relationship with the club owner. There could be some famous jazz musicians in that club, making people reluctant to change their choice. Facilities there might also be of the best in the nation, which is difficult to excel. Without considering these factors above, it is too early to reach the conclusion that the new proposed club would attract local jazz fans.

Secondly, the author claims that jazz is extremely popular in Monroe, refering to the fact that several musicians live in Monroe and the annual jazz festival saw an audience of over 100,000 people last summer. However, these evidince lends little support to the claim that jazz in Monroe is quite popular. There is possibility that those musicians chose to live in Monroe simply beacause of the quiet and beautiful environment here. Low price of houses and living cost could also be appealing factors that persuaded them to live here. As for the festival, the attendance number of the festival other than last summer is not given. There is possibility that people attending the festival last summer declined sharply when compared to statistics of previous years. Before giving convincing explanation to the evincences cited above, it's unsubstantiated to assert that jazz is rather popular in Monroe.

Moreover, the author cited a nation wide survey indicating that expenditure of a typical jazz fan on jazz entertainment is nearly $1000 per year, implying that jazz fans in Monroe would spend similar amount of money on jazz clubs. But the situation of the individual case of Monroe might not be the same as the general situation of the nation. It's likely that Monroe is a relatively less developed region, where people are less likely to spend so much money on entertainment as those in large cities. Jazz fans distribution might also be unbalanced while the number of jazz fans in Monroe is not as many as those in capital cities. Other entertainment like football and basketball games with more advertisements could be a more favored choice for the citizens in Monroe. Without ruling out these factors, it's not convincing to predict jazz fans in Monroe would spend as much as stated by the survey.

In sum, evidences cited by the author lend little support to the argument, leading it to be unfounded as it stands. To substantiate the argument, the detailed popularity of jazz music in Monroe need to be investigated.