The surest indicator of a great nation is represented not by the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists, but by the general welfare of its people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The author asserts that best indication of a great nation is by the general welfare of its people, not by the achievements of its experts like rulers, artists or scientist. Some people may agree with the author because general welfare make people happy and it can be the most important standard to evaluate a great nation. However, we can consider what is more important factor evaluating great nation after defining the term ‘a great nation’. If we define a great nation as country where many people feel happy, then welfare can be the best factor to make a great nation. In other case, if a great nation is defined as country with great ability devoting development of humanity in many field.

Admittedly, the author’s assertion that general welfare is important standards to evaluate one country as a great nation might hold true under certain circumstances. For example, North Europe countries which welfare of its people is in the best condition are considered as great country from many other countries. Many people admire these countries for their great welfare like well-established education system and good medical system. Accordingly, based on above reasons and examples, the author’s claim can be agreed to a certain degree.

However, the author’s assertion may not always be warranted in all aspects. A great country with leading development in many field. For example, Rome was great country having great impact on many other country after the era of Roman Empire. This country make basis of law, politics, architecture, military, and even engineering. Without Roman Empire, Mankind have never been developed in recently. Thus, achievement of rulers, scientists and artists can be the one of factor consider if one country is great country.

In sum, the factors to evaluate which nation is a great nation are depended on definition of term ‘a great nation’. Therefore, both a country which have great welfare aspiring other country and also a country which achievement of their rulers, scientists, artists have great impact on development of humanity can be a great nation.