A recently issued twenty-year study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia investigated the possible therapeutic effect of consuming salicylates. Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, food-processing companies also add salicylates to foods as preservatives. The twenty-year study found a correlation between the rise in the commercial use of salicylates and a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by study participants. At the time when the study concluded, food-processing companies had just discovered that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods, and, as a result, many companies plan to do so. Based on these study results, some health experts predict that residents of Mentia will suffer even fewer headaches in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

According to the paragraph, it seems resonable at first sight to conclude that putting more salicylates could result in fewer headaches of the residetns of Mentia in the future. However, there are three questions that should be answered to decide whether this prediction is scientific.

First of all, it was a 20 years long study, which means there could have been many factors that have affected the residents.If overall lifestyles of the people living there haven't changed significantly and they haven't starting to take medications for thier headache, the author's claim can be supported, but if not, it can seriously harm the claim since it could be the result of medications people used.

Secondly, since food processed in the companis might have been consumed in various regions, we have to find if people living outside of Metia area also expereinced simialr health benefit. If only people living in the Mentia have shown the improvement, it could be due to other environemental reasons, such as having better life quality than before.

Third, many substances have side effects when it is overdosed. If it is true, putting extra amount of the chemical could result in side effects, rather than improving residents' headache. Therefore, it should be checked first if there is side effect of overdosing of the substance.

In conclusion, to conclude that the insistence makes sense, we have to question whether there weren't any other factors that had impact on the residents for 20 years, wheather people who are living in different regions who took the processed food also have reported that they suffer fewer headache and whether there is any side effects of overdose.