academic

Many people might think that to specialize in one specific subject is more important to be successful in academia or for job career. Contary to popular belief, I think it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects because of three reasons: many subjects are intetrating these days, it gives you more common knowledge, and it gives you different perspective.

First, many subjects are integrating with other subjects these days, which means you cannot be successful if you only know about your area, because you will be required to communicate with people from other fields and to study other subjects. For example, current university students are expected to learn how to program, instead of just focusing on their major, because computer programming skills are becoming an essential skill in many areas. If someone keeps avoiding studying computer programming thinking it is better to focus on the one's major, it is more likely that the student would fail.

Second, many knowledge you get from academic subjects are also used to understand your daily life better, which means having broad knowledge in many subjects will benefit you, because you would understand more about your surroundings. For example, my major is computer science, but I took bussiness, politics, gender and women study and pyschology classes during my university time, which allows me to have broad knowledge in many areas. And those broad knowledges makes me enjoy watching news, while understand bussiness circustances of South Korea and enjoy documentary about baby's cognitive development, which I learned when I studied psychology.

Third, it is true that it is important to focus on one specific subject, because being a specialist after only one subject is already demanding, so it would be even harder when you spread your focus. However, I think knowing only related to your research area would keep you from seeing your research or problems with different perspective. For examples, if you were a data scientist and you had to analyze your data, it would be really hard if you just use your knowledge about statistics, which would be solved more easily if the scientist knew something about the data that has to be analyzed.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that the advantages of having broad knowledge of many academic subjects outweigh advantages of only focusing on one specific subject for the reasons I have mentioned above. All in all, it is really important to know something other than your interest or what you study.