'A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.' Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The purpose of a national curriculum is to make its students have general knowledge enough both for their life and their college lives. I agree that a national curriculum will make students better prepared for their college lives in that most students will have similar backgrounds of knowledge, but making all students follow the same universal curriculum will make side effects. In my essay, I will talk about why I agree with requiring a national curriculum and what should be done to strengthen the author’s claim.

Some might disagree with the idea of making mandatory national curriculum in that it will harm teachers’ own profession, which is teaching students in the way they think is proper to their students. I agree to this claim in some extent since it will be harder to change curriculum according to the level of students they teach at schools, which mean there could be students who cannot keep up with materials but teachers will not focus on them since they have to follow the curriculum, which also means declining flexibility at schools. However, since these days, many students are going to university that most people are applying to take SAT or ACT, having a national curriculum will make students learn materials needed for the tests at school, regardless of which high schools they are attending. Most people are taking the same test but if there aren’t universal curriculum that covers materials on the tests, it will confuse many students. Therefore, to provide students a place to prepare those tests, a national curriculum is needed.

However, having single national curriculum can waste time of students who pursue different majors. In the passage, it assumes that a national curriculum is for students who are willing to go to college, but there are still many students who don’t go to college, who still need mandatory education. For them, making them follow the same curriculum as students who are preparing for SAT or ACT will lower their interests in learning. So it will be efficient to prepare an alternative curriculum for them to learn materials, but still similar over the nation. Also, there should be several more curriculums because it is reasonable to provide different curriculum to students who pursue majors related to math and science than to students pursuing literature.

In conclusion, I agree with the claim that there should be national curriculum, but there have to be several options available to students who want to achieve different goals in their lives.