'A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.' Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A curriculum is a guideline about what to teach in schools. The author claims that a nation has to make their students learn the same materials using the guideline. It might see as a good policy but there are some side-effects of making a national curriculum.

First, subjects as history, social studies and politics, which can't avoid including subjective opinions in the materials, will be exposed to danger of being controlled by a government. For example, if a government chooses a specific text book to make its student follow its curriculum, students will only be exposed to ideas that the government thinks proper to learn. If it is science or math, requiring its students to follow it wouldn't make side effects, since science and math knowledge don't change according to textbooks nor curriculum. So it might seem attractive to require its students to follow the same national curriculum, but side effects of learning subjects that must include subjective opinions through identical curriculum and textbooks will have more harmful consequences.

Second, it will take teachers' authority to teach what they think their students have to know away. A nation doesn't actually know what is really happening in classes. If a teacher in low-income district and a teacher in high-income district have to teach the same things at the same speed only to follow the curriculum, it will be harmful to the quality of classes, since students in different schools have different backgrounds and getting different amount of educational support from their family. Because different schools have different students, teachers will know better than the nation regarding what to teach to their students at what speed.

In conclusion, requiring all students in a nation to follow the same national curriculum might have positive effects as making students have similar amount of knowledge through schools, but it will limit what perspective to learn in schools, and it will harm teachers' own choices of what to teach in classes.