"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In this current world, competition is always emphasized more than cooperation in various fields. Therefore many leaders in many companies, government and industries are mostly the people who have won many competitions. However, when we look at people who are truely accepted as nice leaders, they are generally good at cooperating.

First, leaders are people who lead groups of people, not the one who competes with others alone. Since there aren't any leader who can compete all by themselve, they always need help from their close teammates. For example, in business, people might assume that good mangers are ones who compete with other mangers aggressively. However in reality, their primary concerns are how to lead their teammates more efficiently, which shows cooperation is the basis of competing with others better. In this sense, cooperation is what we need to compete well.

Second, in this society, we can see many negative consequences of selectinig students to prestigious universities, which claim that they are growing future leaders. They choose students by how competitively they lived in high school, but they don't see any other factors such as how they have cooperated with their classmates. For example, many students at Harvard university were caught after cheating for their test few years ago. This shows they are good at competing but not many people will follow them. Because they only know how to compete other students in their lectures, but they don't know how to respect others' effort, which they had to learn from cooperation.

Third, because many society already have emphasized a lot on competition but almost none to cooperation, it is time to teach students how to cooperate with others. In schools, students who are thought as nice leaders by friends are often misconstrued as students who hang out too much or are trouble makers to teachers. However, getting respects from other classmates is also important ability just as knowing how to take SAT. Therefore, we have to stop making those who know how to cooperate compete, we have to teach who only knows how to compete how to cooperate.

In conclusion, I agree that competition is important in modern society, However, I think we have to teach young people how to cooperate because cooperation is the foundation to compete better, there have been many negative consequences because of growing students who only know competition, and we have been neglecting importance of cooperation at schools.