GRE Argument:

The following appeared in a memo from the mayor of Brindleburg to the city council.

"Two years ago, the town of Seaside Vista opened a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. Since then, the Seaside Vista Tourism Board has reported a 20% increase in visitors. In addition, local banks reported a steep rise in the number of new business loan applications they received this year. The amount of tax money collected by Seaside Vista has also increased, allowing the town to announce plans to improve Seaside Vista's roads and bridges. We recommend building a similar golf course and resort hotel in Brindleburg. We predict that this project will generate additional tax revenue that the city can use to fund much-needed public improvements."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

it might seem logical to make the conclusion that the author made, but if we look at it carefully. However, there are three questions that should be answered to evaluate the recommendation.

First of all, we have to question if there weren't any other type of factors that could impact on the number of tourists visting the city. For example, if there was a tv show that advertise the town, which led into popularity as a tourist attraction, buidling golf course and resort wouldn't be the effective way, especially when contruction cost is higher than advertising fee.

Second, we have to question if 20 percent increase of vistors are valid amount of improvement. if the previous number of visitors in the town were less than 100, it would just indicate 20 more people visiting after spending tremendous amount of money to build the places. this question is related to the another question, which is whether the city increased the tax rate or not. if there were only small amount of increase of visitiors but large increase in the tax rate, larger amount of tax collected by the city aren't related to the making the places.

Third, we have to ask if the brindleburg has a similar environment as seaside vista. Because if seaside vista has a warmer climate and easier transporation system for people who want to visit this place to use, building a golf course and resort hotel wouldn't have similar effects that seaside vista had. if brindleburg has a colder weather that people don't prefer to play golf, it would impact the city's finance negatively.

In conclusion, those three questions have to be dealt to evaluate the writer's recommendation.