If people disregard the great works of the past, it is because these works no longer answer the needs of the present.

people might wonder what the great works mean. To examine this claim in detail, I narrowed the meaning of great works to something that people achieve in sports, politics and academic field. As I examined achievements in those three areas, I do not support this claim.

First, people have seen many failures of sports stars due to their unethical private lives. For example, Tiger Woods, who was the most famous golf player in the past is now disgraceful star who is only remembered by his wrongful behaviors. As we see, his great achievement as a golf player hasn't changed since his unethical life styles does not change the fact that he won many games and contests. however people disregard his achivement, not because his success as a golf player does not become good example for younger golf player who want to learn his technique, but because of his unethical acts.

Secondly, there are people who does not respect the great works of the past politicians, claiming that their acts didn't change thier lives. For example, there are people in south korea who miss the time when Koreans are under dictatorship, and disrespect heros who achieved democracy. In this case, they are disrespecting their works because of thier ignorance, since it is apparent that democracy changed south korea in a much better society regarding wel-fare and economics. Considering the fact that still virtue of democracy provide answers to many people in south korea in that it allows them to have freedom, people who disrespect the great works of the past are doing so because of their ignorance that prevent them from understanding true meaning of the great works of the past.

Finally, in Academia, there are theories that were once great but now disrespceted, such as Freud's theory. however, it is not mainly because this does not answer people's question of human minds, it is because of its huge flaws that later turned out. this can somewhat support the claim in the passage but I insist that even flawed theories are basis of other great works made these days, it is still somewhat answering the present and I think that the big flaws were main reason why people disregard some theories.

In conclusion, I used examples for three fields to check if the claim can be true, which I denied using my examples.