If people disregard the great works of the past, it is because these works no longer answer the needs of the present.

If we look at there have been many inventions that have influenced the world greatly and made it what it is now. These inventions and discoveries are taken for granted, if not for these inventions things would have been very different. These inventions may not be used much these days but they forms the basics for many new technologies.

For example, engineer students are not thought about present day technologies they are thought about old that technologies and then thought about newer technologies because strong basics are required to excel in any field. Past is the foundation for a strong future.

learning from the past and planing for the future, that is how humanity evolved and overcame many crisis. If these works from past are disregarded mankind will never advance. In India children are told stories about great kings and smart ministers how they dealt with problems. These stories have nothing to do with the present but they give children moral values and makes them want to be brave like those kings and smart like those ministers.

Accordingly, even Albert Einstein wouldn't have been able to do his work with out the knowledge from his predecessors. Every work done is based on works of ancestors.

so to sum it up, works of the past are need to advance into the future.