It is a grave mistake to theorize before one has data.

Making theories with out data is a big mistake. I strongly disagree with the author's statement. Theorizing is theoretical work, where as acquiring data is practical work. There is big difference in this two. Theoretical data and practical data don't always coincide. It is not always possible to theorize from data obtained because there will be lot of factors playing role like noise from other sources, errors in the machinery and parallax errors.

Theorizing is understanding how something works and developing theory which works in either ideal situations or particular situations. Comparing theoretical values and practical data gives understanding about other factors or error percentage. But theorizing from data may not all ways give ideal theory, considering that it has errors and other factors not accounted for.

As and example to the contradict the given statement, considered Albert Einstein. He developed special theory of relativity that is purely theoretical. Now with advancements in science parts of his theory can be tested. This theory was developed in a room on a blackboard.

Accordingly, nations develop nuclear powered weapons and reactors through theoretical models and test it in controlled environment to obtain data to compare it to understand the errors. But to theorize nuclear theories from practically testing it with out prior knowledge or theoretical knowledge to base on would be disastrous.

For instance in the field of biology theories the reaction of medicine and then test it on animals to test the theory but the other way round.