It is a grave mistake to theorize before one has data.

The author claims that it is a fault to have a theory without data. In my view, this claim is too extreme and unfairly ignores other aspects of theories that are lack of data.

I concede that it is more persuasive that a theory having potent data to support it. The nature of a theory is to understand the phenomena and therefore provide us with ability to maneuver and predict future events. If there are no any substantial data to uphold a theory, it is hard for people to trust the power of a theory. Also, if a theory having precise data supported it, the probability that the theory is fault can be low. For example, in the ancient time, the quack usually treated patients with their suspicious method, it is hard for people trust them without successful cases that they have cured people.

However, there still have other reasons to deem that a pure theory is useful. First, an imaginative theory can pave the road for descendants to conduct further exploration, wether or not it will be proved to be true or false. On one hand, a successful scientific research is usually depended on persevering of trial-an-error. Even though a preconceived theory is subverted by future evidences, it still has its contribution. After all, it helps scientists eliminate a possible faulty road, so that they can modify or conceive other way to solve their problems in the future without step into the same faulty road in this “imaginative theory. On the other, many correct theories are substantiated by concrete data that discovered in the future. For example, Einstein’s general relativity, at first, is merely derived by pure assumptions. It predicts that the light nearby the sun will be distorted by the gravity of the sun. Although this revolutionary and pure theory is suspected by many people, the phenomena of light distortion is observed from the sophisticated instrument subsequently.

Furthermore, a theory is valuable because it is the product of humans. Imagination is one precious possession of human beings, and the inventing a pure theory is the manifestation of the ability. Just like the invention of artists- painting, sculptures, and literatures, a pure theory is also a brainchild of a maven. No matter it have practical purposes or not, it is valuable for us to preserve and encourage people to excavate their imaginative abilities.

To sum up, although a theory with compelling data is more practical and has more probability to be proved as correct, it is unjustifiable to say that a theory without data is a mistake. Whether or not a theory be proved true or false, it still have contribution for human society.