While some leaders in government, sports, industry, and other areas attribute their success to a well-developed sense of competition, a society can better prepare its young people for leadership by instilling in them a sense of cooperation.

The author claims that, in order to foster leadership of young people, it better to develop them with sense of cooperation instead of competition. In my view, both competition and cooperation benefit people to perform well in their leader positions.

On one hand, it is correct that leadership entails ability of cooperation. The main purpose of a good leader is to unit people together and achieve a sophisticated job that hard to be done by individual effort. A leader is unsuccessful if he or she cannot provide a congenial atmosphere in the workspace. Once the team members work separately or even work in the animosity, it cannot accomplish an even simple job and the leader of that team is unqualified. Therefore, having a sense of cooperation helps build a successful team.

On the other hand, competition still an essential element for a vigorous team, hence is a necessity that a leader need to possess. It is necessary for a leader to keep in mind that proper competition can activate the power of change and innovation in a team. By the process of debating and challenge, it helps team members to understand their weakness and explore the new possibility, therefore, not only it will help solve problem that a group is tackling with but also instill vitality for the creativity. All these things are important for a successful team and the team leader.

To sum up, the claim mentioned merely focus on one side and thus is deficient. A good team leader need to balance the team between competition and cooperation, these two elements are the essence of a sound and effective team.