At various times in the geological past, many species have become extinct as a result of natural rather than human, processes. Thus, there is no justification for society to make extraordinary efforts especially at a great cost in money and jobs, to save endangered species.

Whether or not human beings are responsible for saving endangered species has raised a heated debate over society. In my view, although from many aspects that the events of extinction are out of human control, however, I assert that we should do still something to mitigate endanger species from extinction, and my analysis is shown below.

I concede that, in the long term, human beings have little liability for extinction. Considering the history, many extinctions owing to the flux of the natural; the ice age has periodically occurred in history, each of it eradicates a great number of species on the earth. Also, the strong evidence shows that the extinction of the dinosaurs, once-powerful creatures dominant the earth, are caused by the providential impact of a meteorite. These cases show that natural disaster is not the responsibility of human. In this view, the demise of the creatures is, to some extent, merely an ecological fluctuation and the natural events but nothing to do with human behaviors.

Also, extinction owing to natural selection. To be specific, according to the theory from Darwin, saying that the more powerful creatures will rule out the weaker ones. Undoubtedly, we humans are living in this competitive world; we forage other animals for living and colonize other creatures’ habitats for development. If we don’t crave for our living, we may also be substituted by other stronger species.

On the other hand, despise the inexorable events of nature, there are still several reasons or impetus for us to save endangered fauna or flora from extinction. Firstly, a sound eco-system benefits our sustainability. As we know, human beings are living in a delicate and sophisticated biosphere, every perturbation would cause profound consequences which may result in a collapse of the biosphere. For instance, plants provide a wide range of animals with food including human beings. Honey bees seem like an unimportant creature, however, it serves as a crucial role in the biosphere. It helps flora disseminating the pollen and thus making plants successfully being pollinated and ensuring the plants thrive. Once honey bees disappear, the upper-level creatures like us, will suffer from starvation and therefore not able to sustain our lives.

Moreover, many creatures are valuable for research and development which may be useful more human society. The natural world not only serves as a paradigm for use to invent new technology, but also suffices us with enormous resources for developing new medicine. From this view, every species may have potential value for the prosperity of human beings. Birds, in the previous generation, inspired Wright brothers to develop their first airplane; nowadays, some insects, are researched by scientists for investigating their air dynamic to conceive better flying machines or drones. What's more, the antibiotic is acquired from living creatures, which is an indispensable medicine in the modern world; so, how don’t we know an endangered species, may one day be found as a source of crucial medicine and saving people’s life.

To sum up, in the long term, extinction may be owing to the vicissitude of nature, we may have little power to change it. Nevertheless, in the short term, every creature has a unique position in the ecosphere. The consequence of the disappearance of the species may be serious and detrimental for humans. Also, many species are valuable for science advancement as well as helping humans to develop new medicines. Therefore, it is necessary for us to make some effort to protect endangered species.