The arts (painting, music, literature, etc.) reveal the otherwise hidden ideas and impulses of a society.

The author claims that concealed parts of a society can be uncovered by investigating the arts. In my view, I agree with that art, in some aspects, reflects the thoughts and wills of people; however, we cannot ignore the multi-aspects of the arts. In other words, arts can have other purposes except reflecting the ideas and thought.

To begin with, the arts, in many ways, reflects the will and the desire of human beings. First, from the personal aspect, artists can propagate their thoughts which are suppressed by the despotic authority. Compared to the blunt and obvious confrontation with their authorities, representing the disaffection for the government by literature pieces is milder and safer. As we can see in the art pieces, we can often found the implicit meaning under poems, novels, or songs; from the suggestion for the government, to the rebellious thought to subvert the tyranny.

Secondly, from the social aspect, we can recover the features in the contemporary society by researching on the artistic works. The artistic works not only represent the ethos and the value of the society but the things that the people long for. For example, in the period of war, people suffered from alienation of their family; therefore, songs and literatures usually related to family, friends, kinship, and the hope of peace. In the peaceful time, the art work usually related to love and joy, which experienced by the people in the cornucopia.

However, we cannot ignore other purposes of arts. The arts can be a tool of showing power. To illustrate, art collector may utilize their possession of art to show their social status. For these kinds of people, we cannot claim that their artistic work can represent their hidden impulse. On the other hand, arts can also be a political tool to acquire power. In the ancient time, peripheral country sometime tribute their art works to show the loyalty for the great power, and thus preventing war. Also, a talented artistic can work for the kings or patricians to gain lucre or power. In these situations, the arts not necessarily reveal the concealed thought and will of people but merely works that cater with the need of authorities.

To sum up, the arts can be a way to understand the hidden thoughts of a society. But, in the same time, we cannot preclude other possible meaning of the arts.